Friday’s Talk : How Gadgets Could Affect My Life

The first gadget I had ever afforded was a mobile phone bought with allowance money I saved for several months plus addition from my mom as gift. Of course it wasn’t fancy brand thing since at that time mobile phones were expensive, at least for a junior high shool student. While other students were already with two mobile phones, I was content enough with what I had. As long as I could use it to communicate well then why should mp3 player or camera be important?

My habit of saving money to buy things I want has been continuing even after now that I get a job and could afford to buy things with my salary. Last year I bought my android phone with Idul Fitri bonus, a local brand which of course can’t be compared with popular names you must have known such as Samsung or Iphone. Still, I’ve always been a contented person and never really complain of what I have (if it’s satisfying enough, heheh). I had asked my mom first because I didn’t want her thinking I wasted my money for unnecessary purpose. She said, “It’s your money, not my responsibility to order what you should do with it.” At the end I’m still a girl who can’t do a thing without parents’ allowance. (laughing) Nowadays I use my gadgets for work. I rarely use phones for texting and calling time is only for family and Ikhwan. I mostly talk with friends via BBM or socmed, which are the cheapest and fastest ways to communicate. I even send weekly report via BBM to my supplier or manitaining my shop items’ dropping or rolling with brand office admin via said app. At least it’s bought to support my work, not just to satisfy my personal want.

Talking about how gadgets affect our lives would give each of us different views. Some people have said that the better gadget you got means more attached you are with it. Having a phone with better functions gives a lot of privilages, but also problems. I have to buy big amount of phone credits to activate internet quota packet, while still needing to use some for texting and calling. I’ve desperately been wanting to hold my urge to recharge my quota but at the end I couldn’t cope from it. If my mom ever found out about it then she would flip over since she never like people who have money-wasting habit. Factually my need of internet is suddenly on dangerous level after I bought a new phone. And it’s just few hours of using since I can’t bring phone into work area, not full time.

I guess out there we could example worse addictions towards gadgets than what have been
happened to me. I have read about some people who harmed others by the effect of games or social media. I also heard that in some place people are too attached to their gadgets that it’d make them feel extremely bad mood to be far from mobile or tablet. What makes me usually cringed is how parents easily give their children gadgets and let them use it freely without restriction. In mall I can find elementary school kids around carrying tablets or Samsung and risking of losing their footsteps because they are too focused on their gadgets. It never fails to amaze me that despite our worry over gadget addiction, in fact there are parents who simply just give them gadgets without feeling worry if the kids would be addicted or not. Kids these days can have whatever they want, handled in silver plater while in us in their age had to work hard to get it. Now to make a comparison, if in recent years our generations are already being haunted by gadget addiction, what about the next generations?

Take an example thing of how my friends think about gadgets they and others have. If you have branded phone with certain type people would label you as someone cool enough to hang with. If you don’t have BBM pin it could be easily meant you can’t afford to buy blackberry or android phone. If you don’t have camera 360 app on your phone then you’re not cool enough to show your pic. I was told like these before, and someday when I asked one of my friends’ BBM pin they were suddenly like, “Oh cool! what’s your phone? Let’s hang out and bring your phone.” Quite funny but honestly it’s all just predictable. But despite of what I mentioned above, how do gadgets actually affect my life? To be honest, I don’t like to be included as a gadget addict. I can still leave my phone cell for 7 hours working time and can still put it far from my reach whenever I feel tired. Sure, when using my phone I tend to be possesive and never want to be disturbed especially if I get proccupied with interesting stuff on internet. Doesn’t matter if it’s actually unimportant enough to be chosen over textes or calls. But at least there a positive side of having a smartphone which can help me in working. The point is, after writing about this topic I must rethink over what I should need in gadgets. To be useful, or a hard-to-cure kind of addiction?

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Talk : How Gadgets Could Affect My Life

  1. If Dani called you Mba… then I have to too…😀

    You are so blessed. Your parents raised you well. If you want something… earn it. Save your own money to get it. And what you said about how this generation have anything they want on silver plate…. I have the same concern.

    And as mentioned by Mba Mikan… reading your post is enriched myself.

    • Haha, take it easy. You can call me by name, no need for adding Mba.🙂

      I’m glad you like my post. There are so much people, especially parents who almost have zero concern towards gadget addiction. Since we’re living in globalization era, it’s actually expected for parents to let their children understand everything through technologies. It won’t be a problem if they give the kids some restrictions or exceptions. Giving example, such as what my Mother thaught me to do. Let them have things by earning it first. It’ll teach them to care about what they need first over what they want.

      • Agree with you Annie. Children should understand that everything came with a price they need to fight for.
        I also don’t want to give gadgets to my future children at early stage.
        I really love how you wrote Annie, seems like you already an expert in English.

  2. Pingback: [EF#3 Weekly Recap] How Gadgets Affect Our Life | Blog English Club

  3. Annie welcome to BEC. It’s nice to have you with us. Your English is good, you vary your vocabs and it is easy for me to follow your thoughts. By the way, I thought subscribing to a monthly internet package is a better way to save money and maintain a continous connection on your device, no?

Leave a Reply

